General discussion about zines

promote, discuss, start your fanzine here!
roundbitsofplastic

General discussion about zines

Post by roundbitsofplastic » Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:02 pm

Maybe we should start an Academic Zine Shizzle thread?

But I wanted to post this somewhere, so for now...
We Make Zines wrote: My name is Peter Bryant, I am a researcher and DIY artist working on a fairly extensive project on participation in DIY arts and specifically zine making, through both the University of Technology, Sydney and Middlesex University in the UK. The aim of the research is to look at how people come to make zines and their personal stories of their first exposure to zines and zine making. I will be hoping to do some online interviews with zine makers early in the new year.

This email is just a heads up about the research project. The main aim of the project is to explore the zine making as an art or a media and hopefully help understand how practices such as zines, street art and community radio can survive and continue to flourish in a changing digital and artistic environment

If you would like to know more about the project, just drop me an email
djringfinger (at) gmail (dot) com
Cheers
Peter
http://www.wemakezines.ning.com
I am struck speechless by the nape of your neck.

Human Vegan
Bite Yr Lip

crystalball
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/felters

Re: General discussion about zines

Post by crystalball » Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:42 pm

There is a fanzine exhibition to coincide with the release of that book we were talking about on the Intercity Baby '09 thread, and you can submit your or someone else's zine for inclusion, it says here.

Zines are the new queer theory.

roundbitsofplastic

Post by roundbitsofplastic » Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:26 am

Is anyone coming to the Brum Zinefest?

Human Vegan
Bite Yr Lip

humblebee
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy

Post by humblebee » Wed Sep 15, 2010 3:00 pm