Starting an indiepop club night - advice please!

DIY clubs, gigs, fun
Colin
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/colinbmx

Starting an indiepop club night - advice please!

Post by Colin » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:57

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a club night for a while now, so I was hoping for some advice. I’ll go into more detail about what kind of night it would be later, but for now I’m thinking of the practical stuff. I have no experience of putting on an event or hiring a venue or equipment, so don’t think something is too obvious to mention!
I suppose my main questions centre around the venue and equipment. Such as:

- Will everywhere ask for a booking fee or are there places that put nights on for free and rely on profits from the bar and/or a cut of entry fees?
- I’m probably going to have to find a small, cheap venue. While there is a niche for the kind of night I’ve got in mind, it probably wouldn’t get huge numbers of people through the door. With that in mind, it might end up at a venue without its own sound equipment (working men's club etc). If that was the case, what would I need, what are the kinds of costs involved in hiring, and where would I get it? Would I need a van (rather than car) to move things like speakers around?

I think I’d manage okay with promotion – between flyers, newspaper/magazine listings, message boards, mailing lists and a Myspace profile (sorry humblebee), I could get the word around well enough. Will I have to prove to venues that enough people are interested to make it worth their while letting me put it on? I guess that’s where the Myspace profile comes in.
I’m aware that I would need at least one other person on board to help organise/fund it and play records. That could be the main stumbling block, actually.