Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

PCs, laptops, macs, mp3 players, consoles, peripherals
User avatar
La-Di-Da
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:10
Location: The 'Shire

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by La-Di-Da » Wed Oct 20, 2010 00:03

Can anyone help me.
I'm trying to post a Halloween playlist on Facebook from Spotify and nobody seems to be able to acces it.
I've posted the http link, the Spotify link and tried 'sharing' it from Spotify.
WHAT AM I DOING WRONG.

linus

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by linus » Wed Oct 20, 2010 00:09

could it have anything to do with your facebook settings? I wonder if you're all set to private then it might interfere with you sharing your spotify playlist...
this is purely a guess based on ignorance, mind

User avatar
La-Di-Da
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:10
Location: The 'Shire

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by La-Di-Da » Wed Oct 20, 2010 00:32

Ahh. Maybe. I have everything set to 'private' or 'friends only'.
I did just figure out how to make my Spotify profile public or something and now I have a list of Facebook friends in Spotify so maybe that's got something to do with it.

User avatar
Gordon
Posts: 5353
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 22:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/GreenGordon
Location: King's Landing
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Gordon » Fri Oct 22, 2010 13:00

richie rich wrote:I've had a brief look at this in the past and it does seem a lot more complicated than most computer "work-arounds".

These guys dvdexploder.com seem to know a thing or two about it - although I haven't used their service.

I can only watch B&S Fans Only one more time before I'm locked into zone 2 ...forever!

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.
Basically the DVD Drive needs to have it's firmware (sort of like its own special operating system ) replaced with a hacked region-free firmware. Then you often need a piece of software to change your operating system (Windows or OS X, for instance)'s understanding of what region it's set to. When I used to have Windows, I used to have a little region-detecting software thing running in the system tray which would automatically check the region of the inserted disc and change it if necessary. Which was nice.

But first you do need to have your disc drive hacked.
Toot toot.

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Sat Oct 23, 2010 01:21

Does anyone know Excel? (I tend to use Calc instead whenever possible since they put that ribbon thing in, but, sometimes I have no choice).

What I want to know is, how do you set it to save as *.xls (excel 1997-2003) as default instead of *.xlsx
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
Big Nose
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 09:27

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Big Nose » Sat Oct 23, 2010 09:07

File -> Save As, then you should see an option something like "Save as type" (usually just beneath where you type a filename) which will drop down a plethora of file types. XLS is in that list.
My apple pies go off today.

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Sat Oct 23, 2010 23:17

Big Nose wrote:File -> Save As, then you should see an option something like "Save as type" (usually just beneath where you type a filename) which will drop down a plethora of file types. XLS is in that list.
Thanks, but, I already know how to do that...I was wondering how to set it so thaty it saves as *.xls by default without going through that every time...
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
Big Nose
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 09:27

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Big Nose » Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:19

Jangloid Mark wrote:Thanks, but, I already know how to do that...I was wondering how to set it so thaty it saves as *.xls by default without going through that every time...
Excel Options -> Save, then select .xls from the "Save files in this format" dropdown. This is for Excel 2007.
My apple pies go off today.

Jangloid Mark
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 18:38
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/JanglyMark
Location: Swansea, Wales
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Jangloid Mark » Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:24

Big Nose wrote:
Jangloid Mark wrote:Thanks, but, I already know how to do that...I was wondering how to set it so thaty it saves as *.xls by default without going through that every time...
Excel Options -> Save, then select .xls from the "Save files in this format" dropdown. This is for Excel 2007.
Thanks :)
Love is a weakness in the knees...it's dangerous on the stairs...

Bandcamp : https://janglymark.bandcamp.com/
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/Jangly.Mark
Skype : Jangly Mark (feel free to call me)

User avatar
nanski
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:53
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: she lives by the castle

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by nanski » Tue Nov 23, 2010 09:02

Safari kept crashing on my computer, so deleted it and tried to download it again. But it won't let me. it says there's a newer version already on the computer. I can't find any traces of Safari on my computer. Help!

I don't really care about Safari, but so many things try to link to it automatically, it really causes problems not to have a working copy on my computer.

Arigatou gozaimasu!
big hole! big hole! big hole! big man! big man!

linus

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by linus » Tue Nov 23, 2010 15:23

anyone able to recommend some software to destroy the thinkpoint virus our computer's picked up, it's all rather tiresome, I've found 'free' software which identifies the virus is there but then you have to buy the full software to delete it (I wonder who can be behind the thinkpoint virus, hmm...)?

ideally I'd like something actually free and effective but if we have to pay out then I want to ensure the software proper works and will serve us for this and other things

can anyone help?

User avatar
crystalball
Posts: 5197
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:04
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/felters
Location: That London
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by crystalball » Tue Nov 23, 2010 15:36

Andy, this Malwarebytes software is good and it's free: http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebytes-A ... 04572.html. I don't know if it's the latest version or what but it'll probably update automatically. Good luck.

linus

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by linus » Tue Nov 23, 2010 16:42

hey! that's exactly what I did use and it's done the trick (I'm hoping, I'll let snorks investigate when she gets in)

edit: thanks for that

(sorry, I should have said that previously but it's a bit awkward as I'd found the download prior to reading your post BUT I think you deserve a big thank you for responding and clearly great minds think alike... so, yeh, thanks marianthi... tharianthi!)

Dan Pop-o-matic
Posts: 2036
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 13:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/DanPopomatic
Location: Sheffields

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Dan Pop-o-matic » Thu Jan 27, 2011 08:57

My netbook has stopped communicating with the router in my house. It'll say its connected, but then IE won't show any webpages and no other web based programs will connect either. My netbook will connect to other wireless networks, and my phone has no problems with the router. I used to have this problem intermittently, but it would start working after a couple of minutes.

There is an Ethernet cable that extends 2ft into my room, and the netbook works fine when plugged into that, but the shortness means its neither use nor ornament.

Any thoughts? Can you buy some kind of Ethernet extension cable from Maplins or something?

Edit: Perhaps should explain that the router is in the living room and my bedroom is in the cellar. The Ethernet cable is extended from the router but goes through several walls before it hits my room, so buying a longer cable isn't really viable.

User avatar
crystalball
Posts: 5197
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:04
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/felters
Location: That London
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by crystalball » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:33

I had this problem a bit ago and it turned out to be an IP address thing. From what I remember, my puter was looking to obtain the IP address manually when it should have been doing it automatically. Vista has a diagnostic thingy that will sort it out without you having to change the properties (it's in CP > Networks and internet > Manage wireless networks). But if you have an older OS, I seem to think it was under wireless connections > internet protocol > properties.

If this doesn't get you anywhere, then you might want to try the old 'reset the router and reboot' but that might mess things up for your housemates.

Hmm, just thought of something else you could try in case the problem is your internal wireless card: you can buy a wireless internet USB stick, like this one. Or ask around to see if anyone's got one to lend you to try out.

Dan Pop-o-matic
Posts: 2036
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 13:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/DanPopomatic
Location: Sheffields

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by Dan Pop-o-matic » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:41

Thanks Marianthi. I had thought of resetting the router but like you say, it might mess up my housemates connection. I'll try the other things first though.

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4498
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by tonieee » Sat Jan 29, 2011 08:44

Super Furry Daniel wrote:Any thoughts? Can you buy some kind of Ethernet extension cable from Maplins or something?
I would have thought they do or you could buy a coupler which will allow you to connect another normal ethernet cable to it.

User avatar
jayen_aitch
Posts: 2660
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 00:54
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jayen_aitch/
Location: sverige

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by jayen_aitch » Sat Jan 29, 2011 09:30

Do you guys have fixed IP addresses? Could something else be trying to use your the IP address which is supposed to be for your netbook?

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4498
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by tonieee » Sat Jan 29, 2011 19:44

tonieee wrote:
Super Furry Daniel wrote:Any thoughts? Can you buy some kind of Ethernet extension cable from Maplins or something?
I would have thought they do or you could buy a coupler which will allow you to connect another normal ethernet cable to it.
After posting this my internet connection disappeared and was out for most of the day. Both wirelessly and wire-with-ly. It's obviously contagious - be warned!

mavit
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 14:33

Re: Nnngh, this...COMPUTER! Heeelp!

Post by mavit » Sun Jan 30, 2011 20:51

tonieee wrote:
Super Furry Daniel wrote:Any thoughts? Can you buy some kind of Ethernet extension cable from Maplins or something?
I would have thought they do or you could buy a coupler which will allow you to connect another normal ethernet cable to it.
Yeah, one of these will do the trick: http://www.maplin.co.uk/inline-coupler- ... king-44750. Spectacularly overpriced for a few bits of wire in a plastic box, but there you have it.

I cobbled one together once from two RJ45 to DB25 converters. Much to my surprise, nothing exploded.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest