technomology

we don't know but perhaps a fellow anorak will - ask them here
Anonymous

technomology

Post by Anonymous » Fri Oct 05, 2007 16:26

1. good thing or bad thing- what are the potential pitfalls of them fm adaptor things that mean you can play your mp3 player thru' your car stere-ere-oes?

2. if I have software like audacity, a lead that will connect my turntable to my pc... can I record my vinyl into mp3's?

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10543
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 16:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by humblebee » Fri Oct 05, 2007 16:53

andygrunt wrote:2. if I have software like audacity, a lead that will connect my turntable to my pc... can I record my vinyl into mp3's?
Yes. I've not got it to work yet because the sound level is way off high in the red... but I just haven't found the right bit to tweak yet, missus. People do it. People do it all the time.

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Fri Oct 05, 2007 17:03

Depends what kind of turntable you have, the level of the output from it. If your turntable goes into some kind of amplifier with a volume control, then use the tape output of the amplifier so essentially you're using your PC as a tape recorder.

I'd use the amplifier volume control so that the sound level on the PC doesn't go red at all, then after you've 'taped' the track, trim the silence / spikes at either end, then use some kind of normalise function on the pc to make the volume level nice.

User avatar
squirrelboutique
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:05

Post by squirrelboutique » Fri Oct 05, 2007 17:54

I had one of those fm adaptor things, and I liked it a lot, but I left it in a stupid rental car in D.C. THe reception was fuzzy sometimes. It didn't work at all well in my friend's car though when she drove on a roadtrip once. It was all stupid and fuzzy unless I held my ipod in one spot in the car. And I remember it being tough to find a station it would work on sometimes it larger cities with lots of station.

Now I used a $4 cable from Radio Shack, but my car stereo has an input hole thing.

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Fri Oct 05, 2007 19:49

I bought an fm transmittor thing in sainsburys on my way home from work and it's rubbish, the sound was really tinny and crackly and no amount of fiddling could stop it sounding like a tin of bees

also the loudest volume I could get was 'whisper'

I'm taking it back tomorrow- it's not fit for purpose and I demand my money back, I'll tell the youth on customer services

I think I might invest in a lead to try recording some vinyl

User avatar
squirrelboutique
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:05

Post by squirrelboutique » Fri Oct 05, 2007 22:53

Andygrunt hates tins of bees.

User avatar
crystalball
Posts: 5197
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 18:04
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/felters
Location: That London
Contact:

Post by crystalball » Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:17

Corpsey O'Sniffles wrote:
andygrunt wrote: The Loudest Volume I Could Get Was 'Whisper'
You should be naming Pipas records!
(or someone's)
Brilliant!

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:40
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by tonieee » Tue Oct 09, 2007 08:20

humblebee wrote:
andygrunt wrote:2. if I have software like audacity, a lead that will connect my turntable to my pc... can I record my vinyl into mp3's?
Yes. I've not got it to work yet because the sound level is way off high in the red... but I just haven't found the right bit to tweak yet, missus. People do it. People do it all the time.
I do it all the time and audacity is right good at it. I've used a couple of different kinds of special software, specially made for recording records and they're not as good as audacity.

Pete, have you tried going into volume control, selecting options->properties->recording and then adjusting the line in volume from there?

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10543
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 16:33
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Re: technomology

Post by humblebee » Tue Oct 09, 2007 08:48

tonieee wrote:Pete, have you tried going into volume control, selecting options->properties->recording and then adjusting the line in volume from there?
I can't remember now. I must've done. Are you still offering to have a look for me next time you come round? :)

Anonymous

Re: technomology

Post by Anonymous » Wed Oct 10, 2007 17:56

tonieee wrote:
humblebee wrote: Yes. I've not got it to work yet because the sound level is way off high in the red... but I just haven't found the right bit to tweak yet, missus. People do it. People do it all the time.
I do it all the time and audacity is right good at it. I've used a couple of different kinds of special software, specially made for recording records and they're not as good as audacity.

Pete, have you tried going into volume control, selecting options->properties->recording and then adjusting the line in volume from there?
I've given myself a right headache stressing over this

it just sounds a bit shit, nearly but not right, I'm up in the reds everytime

do I need some kind of sound card other than the one that presumably comes with my pc?

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Wed Oct 10, 2007 18:07

I found this: http://lancej.blogspot.com/2006/01/ripp ... cords.html

I'm more confused than ever

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Wed Oct 10, 2007 18:46

Linus, can you describe your setup, what bits of equipment are plugged into what inputs / outputs and I'll try to help.

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Wed Oct 10, 2007 18:57

Image
Image

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:41

I'm not using any pre-amp's, I've just plugged my turntable into my modem

there's presumably no means of getting it to work effectively with this very rudimentary set-up?

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:26

Linus wrote:there's presumably no means of getting it to work effectively with this very rudimentary set-up?
Sure there is, anything you can hear you can rip to MP3, once it starts working, its easy.

I'm just trying to visualise the setup you have, so we'll try to take this step by step.

What do you mean by plugged into your modem? Does your computer have an audio line in socket, this is usually round the back next to the microphone and headphone connector, on PCs in the last couple of years its a light blue colour, this is where I'd usually be plugging into.

When you're normally listening to records is the set up one of the following?

Turntable - amplifier - speakers
Turntable - preamp - amplifier - speakers
Turntable - headphones
Turntable - mini-hifi system with speakers

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:08

ok, thanks contravene, usually it's...

Turntable - mini-hifi system with speakers

although my mini-hifi system is dead right now

I'd plugged my lead from my turntable into the microphone socket on the pc

I guess that's one thing to sort out first

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:15

Okay this is kind of cool, if you usually plug the turntable straight into the mini-hifi, it means what comes out of the turntable is at line level and doesn't need the phono preamp in my first drawing. You should be able to plug it into the line-in on your computer.

The microphone socket is usually just mono, whilst you'll be wanting to record stereo using the line-in socket.

User avatar
Contravene
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 19:14
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/
Location: This London
Contact:

Post by Contravene » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:20

according to the Audacity Help...
The mixer toolbar has three controls, used to set volume levels of your audio device and choose the input source. The leftmost slider controls the output volume, (I'd set this to max), the other slider controls the recording volume (I'd set this to around 60% initially then adjust it when I'm recording so that the meter toolbar never goes into the red) and the control on the right lets you choose the input source, (set it to "line in")

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:39

well, thank you for that, I'll have another play tonight and let you know how I get on!

8)

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Oct 11, 2007 18:10

good grief, it worked!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest