recording on computers

musicians, writers, promoters unite
James_B
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:07 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jamesbrittan

Re: recording on computers

Post by James_B » Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:52 pm

Does anyone here use Pro Tools LE or M-Powered?

Will an original m-box (the crappy looking ones from a few years ago) run a version of Pro Tools LE if I can find a disk or a torrent?

I know that's a bit morally/ legally dubious and everything, but I always use and prefer Logic which I bought legally and everything, but I've ended up booking a session to record my band in a Pro Tools HD only studio. I'll probably only use it a couple of times on this one group of tracks anyway... I guess I could take my laptop and patch it in, but then I'd only have 8 simultaneous tracks available as opposed to 24, and it would just be a pain.

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4487
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tonieee » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:27 am

I've tried doing some recording on my laptop with a microphone plugged into the mic socket but the level is very low. I think I may need a preamp but they all seem so terribly expensive - does anybody know of a cheap way to make it louder? Would a better microphone help?

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10539
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:33 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by humblebee » Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:16 am

tonieee wrote:I've tried doing some recording on my laptop with a microphone plugged into the mic socket but the level is very low. I think I may need a preamp but they all seem so terribly expensive - does anybody know of a cheap way to make it louder? Would a better microphone help?
Hmmm, dunno, but I don't think so. When I had that problem I tried whacking the input level right up but it just created loads of white noise. This is why the 'Sparkly' single sounds so rough (on 'Take Your Time' I thought I might as well include the noise and make a virtue of it). I was umming and ah-ing for ages about this. In the end I just bought a preamp box thing. You can borrow it if you like!

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:37 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tompony » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:28 am

I remember you having that problem before, Pete! It's very strange. I've got a preamp now (as I've got a fancy microphone that needs phantom power) but I never really had a problem getting decent level from a microphone prior to that. Generally just fiddling with the input level led to decent-ish results. The mic socket on a laptop should have a basic preamp built-in, otherwise what's the point in it being there? Weird!

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10539
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:33 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by humblebee » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:49 am

Maybe I've just always had laptops with shit internal soundcards.

I've got a fancy microphone that needs phantom power now too! It's got a spooky blue light and everything!

Sometimes I worry that I fall short of the high standards of specialist technical discourse demanded by this thread.

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:37 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tompony » Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:02 am

Even if they're a bit shit, if they're labelled as mic sockets then they should boost the signal up to decent levels. It's an outrage, and a perfect example of David Cameron's Broken Britain.

Phantom Power is such a cool name for a thing. I'm hoping to upgrade my setup to include a Dragon Keyboard and a Wizard Interface at some point.

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4487
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tonieee » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:14 pm

humblebee wrote:Hmmm, dunno, but I don't think so. When I had that problem I tried whacking the input level right up but it just created loads of white noise.
That's exactly what's happening to me. I'm using my eee and the built in soundcard's really rubbish and the noise was really bad. So I bought a cheap-ish external USB soundcard and it works fine for vocals and melodica but when trying to record acoustic guitar through a mike I have to turn the level up so much that I get the white noise.
humblebee wrote:I was umming and ah-ing for ages about this. In the end I just bought a preamp box thing.
Where did you get it from and how much was it? I don't want to spend a lot of money cos it's just for messing about with really - when we do real recordings I'll get someone who knows what they're doing to do it.
humblebee wrote:You can borrow it if you like!
Thanks, I might have a go with it at some point to see if it makes a difference.

User avatar
jayen_aitch
Posts: 2660
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:54 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jayen_aitch/
Location: sverige

Re: recording on computers

Post by jayen_aitch » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:06 pm

I use my macbook, with logic, and run the sound in through an M Audio fast track ultra. Mic wise I'm using a samson condenser. It all comes together very nicely.

Shame I can't sing.

User avatar
plastic stars
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:50 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/brokendials
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by plastic stars » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:09 pm

i've been recording with a macbook and garage band. i know very little about recording but was able to kind of learn along the way. i use a yamaha audiogram 6 for an interface. my recordings have come out alright (you can listen if you want http://summerlibrary.bandcamp.com). still learning! may update to better software sometime
http://summerlibrary.bandcamp.com
listen to my music if you'd like!
now available for free download here: http://februaryrecords.com/2010/10/02/f ... r-library/

User avatar
humblebee
Posts: 10539
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:33 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/atomicbeatboy
Location: Sheffields
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by humblebee » Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:26 am

tonieee wrote:Where did you get it from and how much was it? I don't want to spend a lot of money cos it's just for messing about with really - when we do real recordings I'll get someone who knows what they're doing to do it.
I got it from Dolphin Music, who are very good, and it cost 76 quid excluding VAT. It seems to have gone up a bit since then though, which you wouldn't expect. There are probably cheaper ones out there. But yeah, have a play with it if you like. It needs Software and stuff though, and you don't run Windows on your Eeee, do you. So that's a complication.

User avatar
tonieee
Posts: 4487
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:40 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/tonieee
Location: Sheffield Sex City
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tonieee » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:49 am

humblebee wrote:
tonieee wrote:Where did you get it from and how much was it? I don't want to spend a lot of money cos it's just for messing about with really - when we do real recordings I'll get someone who knows what they're doing to do it.
I got it from Dolphin Music, who are very good, and it cost 76 quid excluding VAT. It seems to have gone up a bit since then though, which you wouldn't expect. There are probably cheaper ones out there. But yeah, have a play with it if you like. It needs Software and stuff though, and you don't run Windows on your Eeee, do you. So that's a complication.
So it's a USB audio interface with preamps rather than just a preamp. I've googled it and as far as I can tell it'll work with Linux fine without having to install extra software. It sounds good but a bit more than I want to spend but would be better than spending that amount on a seperate preamp. I just want a cheap way of amplifing the signal from my microphone to the soundcard - it doesn't have to be a wonderful sound or anything.

James_B
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:07 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jamesbrittan

Re: recording on computers

Post by James_B » Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:44 pm

does anyone know of a website for online musical collaboration?

i think it would be really cool if there was a site where people could upload an unfinished song and see if anyone could add required parts or just finish it off. even though long distance music making doesn't seem to be the best way to go about it, it could be interesting.

i like to make music to go with videos, but i'm not very good at it or experienced enough to get paid for it, but i find it fun and there must be film students or amateur film makers who need music made. this is just another post-pub idea really, but if it doesn't already exist it should.

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:37 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tompony » Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:15 am

I don't know of a website that specifically exists to organise collaborations, but songwriting sites like 50 songs in 90 days (which is live at the moment) and February Album Writing Month (which isn't, for obvious reasons) have a lot of that sort of thing going on.

I've also seen collaborations arranged on the Reaper forums (the sequencer that I use).

So it does happen, but I'm not aware of a website that exists purely for collaboration purposes.

James_B
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:07 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jamesbrittan

Re: recording on computers

Post by James_B » Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:45 pm

It sounded like a great idea at the time, but I was pretty drunk. I just like the idea of making music with people without actually having to meet new people or leave the house, I'm not the most sociable person.

Why do you use Reaper? Primarily the price, or for its features? It seems interesting. I think I've always used the big name sequencers out of a need to know the "industry standard" software, but now that its looking less and less likely that I'll ever have a career in that sort of thing (unfortunately), that's slightly irrelevant.

I use Logic, Pro Tools and sometimes Ableton, but I can't say I'm 100% satisfied with any of them. I can't afford a decent digi interface for Pro Tools, Logic is good but it occasionally freaks out for no obvious reason, and Ableton is good for what it is but I can't see it being my main software anytime soon.

User avatar
jayen_aitch
Posts: 2660
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:54 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jayen_aitch/
Location: sverige

Re: recording on computers

Post by jayen_aitch » Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:31 pm

James_B wrote:Logic is good but it occasionally freaks out for no obvious reason.
Hmmm, what system are you using?

My Logic only freaks out if I turn on/off my m-audio while it is expecting to use it... so I stopped doing that.

User avatar
tompony
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:37 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/lardpony
Location: matlock
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by tompony » Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:07 pm

James_B wrote:Why do you use Reaper? Primarily the price, or for its features? It seems interesting. I think I've always used the big name sequencers out of a need to know the "industry standard" software, but now that its looking less and less likely that I'll ever have a career in that sort of thing (unfortunately), that's slightly irrelevant.
I've only just started using Reaper really, after using a "demo" version of Cubase for the last 10 years or so. I developed a conscience and decided to use a sequencer I could actually afford! But I'm absolutely MASSIVELY pleased with it - it's wonderful. There's a lot of things it does better than Cubase, it's updated regularly and there's a friendly and helpful user community.

I'm working on a collaboration with a Norwegian chap that I've never met at the moment (via that 50 songs in 90 days site). It's really fun!

James_B
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:07 pm
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/jamesbrittan

Re: recording on computers

Post by James_B » Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:51 pm

jayen_aitch wrote:
James_B wrote:Logic is good but it occasionally freaks out for no obvious reason.
Hmmm, what system are you using?

My Logic only freaks out if I turn on/off my m-audio while it is expecting to use it... so I stopped doing that.
Errors like "Audio and MIDI could not be synchronised" and things like that, I've been using it almost daily for 5 years or so now and it still happens now and again... possibly the result of fucking about in the environment or my slightly dodgy soundcard. not really often enough to make me change I suppose. I do love logic though, just wouldn't trust it in any sort of live situation, which isn't what its made for or what I use it for, so whatever.

User avatar
Ferdinand
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:52 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/Ayoralone
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: recording on computers

Post by Ferdinand » Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:43 pm

I'm using a Line6 Toneport UX2 to record my instruments but I'm not satisfied with the sound. Even for the vocals, I'm a bit disapointed. Though, I kind of have a descent mic (a T-Bone SCT2000).
So I'm a bit desperate when I listen to what I record at home and how it sucks compared to what people can do by themselves.
(By the way, if you want to hear how it sounds, here is a link: http://the-red-poppies.bandcamp.com/)

That's why, apart of the software, I'm also interesting in the forum musician's hardware :)

islandhopper
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:44 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/mi-fhein
Location: I belong to Glasgow

Re: recording on computers

Post by islandhopper » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:56 pm

Does anyone use Ableton Live? Got a Launchpad for my birthday which came with a version of the software. Right now I'm just more than happy making weird and wonderful sounds with it. Don't know how it'll be if I actually want to record something properly but it's great fun just to play about with.

islandhopper
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:44 am
Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/mi-fhein
Location: I belong to Glasgow

Re: recording on computers

Post by islandhopper » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:09 pm

Anyone know where to find decent drum loops? There's obviously an abundance of dance and hip-hop ones, but what if you're just trying to write a nice pop song!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest